Here we are at the start of another new year. I’ve experienced some fifty plus New Years. Can’t say that I remember all of them.

Once upon a time I was hopeful when the start of another year came around. With time I slowly realized not much, if anything, changes just because the year is new. I’ve questioned why we even celebrate the beginning of a new year, an arbitrary human invention, when we do.

Makes more sense to celebrate the new year at winter solstice, because the days start growing longer. Or to celebrate at the spring equinox when life rebounds after winter departs.

I suppose this year’s beginning is a bit sad because when the season festivities are over, will have attended two funerals. Maybe that is why we celebrate. Celebrate being alive because life is fleeting. Our lives are fragile, yet amazingly resilient at the same time.

